Useful Links and Resources
Senate Hispanic Research Council
Texas Senate
Texas House
Pew Hispanic Center
US Census Bureau
Equity Center
About Senate Hispanic Caucus

The Texas Senate Hispanic Caucus was established in 1987 with Senator H. “Tati” Santiesteban serving as its first Chair. It was constituted of all duly elected Texas State Senators who were of Hispanic descent.

The Texas Senate Hispanic Caucus was established to promote and monitor legislative initiatives that reflect the common goals and objectives for the betterment of the Texas Hispanic community and to promote and support economic development, health, education, civic engagement, and civil rights issues as they pertain to Hispanics in Texas.

The Senate Hispanic Caucus now not only includes Texas Senators who are themselves of Hispanic descent but also those who represent Hispanic and minority dominated districts, and have shown a commitment to supporting the issues and policies most important to Hispanics in Texas.

Under the current Chairman, Senator José Rodríguez, the Caucus continues to fight for public policy that promotes the interests of not only Texas Hispanics, but also Texas in general.